about afia

Awards Program

The American Feed Industry Association offers several awards each year to recognize leaders within the animal food industry. Below are details on some of the various programs.

AFIA/KSU Feed Manufacturing Lifetime Achievement Award

Beginning in 1995, the AFIA established this award with Kansas State University to recognize and honor U.S. feed industry retirees – or those who are no longer serving the industry or allied industries – who have made a significant contribution to animal feed in the United States over the length of their careers. Individuals can be nominated in the areas of business, science and technology. Only 23 individuals have received the award to date. For a list of past award winners, click here.

Distinguished Service Award

Since 1981, 39 individuals have received the Distinguished Service Award, the AFIA’s highest honor. These award winners represent the truly elite members of the U.S. and international animal food industry who have throughout their careers provided outstanding support to the entire animal food industry. These individuals’ contributions have had a significant impact on the overall industry. Recipients come from all facets of the industry -- animal food and ingredient manufacturing, industry support, university, association, equipment manufacturers and government. For a list of past award winners,  click here.

Feed Facility of the Year

Co-sponsored by the AFIA and Feedstuffs, this program is designed to recognize overall excellence in animal food manufacturing facilities. Increased safety, quality, regulatory compliance, operating efficiencies and overall industry awareness of food safety is promoted through the program, which recognizes the highest achieving facility with the Feed Facility of the Year Award. As companies compete, their operations continue to improve by receiving a benchmarking report at the end. The award program has been offered since 1985. For a list of past winners, click here

Friend of Pet Food Award

Launched in 2019, the Friend of Pet Food Award will recognize individuals who have made significant contributions to support the growth of the pet food industry. Learn more about how to nominate individuals here.

Honorary Board Director

The AFIA Board of Directors gave this honor for the first time in 2021 to recognize posthumously years of service to the industry. Learn more about the award here.

Liquid Feed Hall of Fame

Developed in 2003 and managed by the AFIA Liquid Feed Committee, this award publicly recognizes and honors individuals who have made significant contributions to the science and growth of the liquid feed industry. To date, 22 recipients have received this honor. For a list of prior inductees, click here.

Member of the Year

This award is given to an AFIA member(s) who has exhibited amazing support over the year to helping the organization achieve its goals and objectives. With the exception of in 2021 when all AFIA members received the award and in 2014 when the 83 members of the Food Safety Modernization Act working group received the award, only 42 individuals have been honored with this award to date. For a list of past award honorees, click here.

Nutrition Awards

The AFIA jointly sponsors several nutrition research awards with the American Dairy Science Association, the American Society of Animal Science, the Equine Science Society, the Federation of Animal Sciences and the Poultry Science Association. The awards program dates back to 1948, and recipients are selected by their peers within the scientific community. For a full summary of past winners, click here. To learn more about how to apply for one of the awards, contact the scientific association that administers the award as each has their own requirements.