about afia

Distinguished Service Award

Below is a list of past honorees of the American Feed Industry Association’s Distinguished Service Award.


2024 Calvin Ross Hamilton, Ph.D., Darling Ingredients, retired
2023 Richard Sellers, American Feed Industry Association, retired
2022 Alan Gunderson, Vita Plus Corporation
2021 Rurik B. "R.B." Halaby, AgriCapital Corporation, retired
2020 William Braman, Ph.D., Chr. Hansen Animal Health and Nutrition
2019 William Barr, Bill Barr & Company
2018 Charles Olentine, Ph.D., Consult-NC
2017 Bob Brill, Brilliant Alternatives
2016 Donald Orr, Jr., Ph.D., JBS United, Inc., president emeritus
2015 Richard Rawlings, PerforMix Nutrition Systems, retired
2014 Philip Olsson, OFW Law
2013 Trevor Tomkins, Ph.D., Venture Dairy
2012 David Larson, Cargill, Inc.
2011 Dave Downey, Ph.D., Center for Agricultural Business, Purdue University
2010 Keith Behnke, Ph.D., Kansas State University
2009 Dwight Armstrong, Ph.D., North American Nutrition Companies
2008 George Graber, Ph.D., Center for Veterinary Medicine, Food and Drug Administration
2003 Haskell Cudd, Stillwater Milling
2001 Richard Loomis, E. C. Loomis & Son/Loomix
2000 Frank Crane, Frank M. Crane & Associates/Land O’Lakes
1999 Tilden Wayne Perry, Purdue University
1997 Carl Akey, Akey, Inc.
1996 Edward McMillan, Purina Mills
1994 G. Ray Wilson, Tennessee Farmers Cooperative
1993 Richard Severson, Kent Feeds
1992 Robert McEllhiney, Kansas State University
1992 Robert Schoeff, Kansas State University
1991 Lee H. Boyd, American Feed Industry Association
1990 H. C. "Bo" Eaton, MoorMan’s, Inc.
1989 Ogden Confer, Hubbard Milling
1988 Robert Hamond, Golden Sun Feeds
1987 Alec Poitevint, II, Southeastern Minerals
1986 H. M. "Fuzzy" Perrit, Fuzzy’s Feeds
1985 William Diamond, American Feed Manufacturers Association
1984 Dean Webster, H. K. Webster Co.
1983 W. E. "Ed" Glennon, American Feed Manufacturers Association
1982 Charles Klinger, Central Soya Company
1981 Leland Hall, NEC Hall Consultants
1981 Kay Klatt, Occupational Safety and Health Administration
1981 Don Murphy, Ralston Purina
1981 H. P. "Bud" Smith, Cargill, Inc.