about afia

Member of the Year

Below is a list of past honorees of the American Feed Industry Association’s Member of the Year award.


2024 AFIA's Generally Recognized as Safe (GRAS) Modernization Working Group
2023 Wes Klet, XF Enterprise
2023 Megan Fulmer, Darling Ingredients Inc.
2022 Eric Altom, Ph.D., Balchem Corporation
2021 All AFIA members
2020 Cassie Jones, Ph.D., Kansas State University
2019 T.J. Biggs, Global Animal Products
2018 Pete Calderon, Scott Equipment
2017 Angela Mills, Southern States Cooperative
2017 Mike Van Koevering, Ph.D., Elanco Animal Health
2016 Cathy Bandyk, Ph.D., Westway Feed Products LLC
2016 Ronny Moser, Ph.D., JBS United, Inc.
2015 Dr. Charles Starkey, Balchem Animal Nutrition and Health
2014 AFIA’s Food Safety Modernization Act working groups (83 individuals from 60 companies)
2013 Jarrod Kersey, Ph.D., The Nutro Company
2013 Jason Vickers, Procter & Gamble
2012 Chad Risley, Ph.D., Lucta, U.S.A.
2011 Dale Hill, Ph.D., ADM Alliance Nutrition, Inc.
2011 Paul Phillips, Maxi-Life/Southwest Agri-Plastics, Inc.
2010 Dr. Alan Wessler, MFA Incorporated
2009 Patti Cardoso, Gladwin A. Read Company
2009 Jerry McCoy, American Feed Industry Insurance Co.
2008 Marlene Petersen, Milk Specialties Co
2005 Mike Horn, Pennfield Corporation
2004 Richard Frasch, Cargill Animal Nutrition
2003 Patrick Whidden, United States Sugar Corporation
2002 Susan Carlson, Cargill Inc.
2001 Dominic Cardone, Blue Seal Feeds
2001 Randall Sample, Consolidated Nutrition
2000 Lars Reimann, Woodson-Tenant Laboratories
1999 Heather Stilborn, Optimum Quality Grains
1999 Keith Epperson, Kent Feeds
1998 Jon Nelson, Southeastern Minerals
1997 James Tobey, George A. Jeffreys & Company
1996 Ted Frye, Hoffmann-LaRoche
1995 Kent Haden, MFA Inc.
1995 Paul Luther, Purina Mills
1994 Richard Rawlings, Agri Beef Company
1993 Bob Broyles, Purina Mills
1992 David Larson, Cargill/Nutrena
1991 Q. Dick Stephen-Hassard, Fred L. Waldron Co.
1990 Jon Baker, Sidney Manufacturing Co.
1989 William Tribble, Agrimerica
1988 Gene Morneau, Cargill, Inc.
1987 Larry Young, Carnation Company
1986 Terry Stonecipher, J. W. Safety Management
1985 G. Ray Wilson, Tennessee Farmers Cooperative